Self Proclaimed Queen of Purees

There are a lot of things that I’m not proud of.  The number of days a week I don’t shower, when I fall asleep before telling my husband I love him, when I leave the peanut butter jar on the counter open with the knife sticking out of it all day long…you know, those sort of things.  Before Polly was born, I decided I wanted to make her food when she was old enough for solids and my Mom graciously bought us a Vitamix to make my pureeing easier.  We really struggled to get pounds on our girl, so we started her on purees at 4 months after talking with our pediatrician.  (Sidetone, she has done AWESOME gaining weight ever since she started eating solids)

Not even going to lie to you.  I’m writing this post because I’m proud of myself.  For the last 3 months, I have peeled, chopped, roasted, blanched, steamed, pureed, strained, spooned, and frozen countless ounces of food for Polly.  She is SUCH a good eater.  I have been doing most of her food in smaller batches when the produce goes on sale at the grocery store, but just before the holidays our Costco started carrying organic produce in bulk, so I committed to doing my next batch from Costco produce.  I wanted to calculate how much money I was saving.  Now, I have to be honest here.  My Dad and I are exactly the same, thus he gives me a REALLY hard time a lot because it makes him happy.  🙂  So, selfishly, I wanted to be able to tell him I was saving a ton of money by making her food rather than jarred food “that I ate growing up and turned out just fine”.  (Love you Daddy!)

For once in my life, I was RIGHT!  I was right BIG time!  Now, my husband will back me up here.  This process literally wore me out.  It took me two full weeks to the day to process all of the food.  My dishwasher ran at LEAST 3 times a day during that time and I fell into bed beyond exhausted every single night from being on my feet in the kitchen almost non-stop for 14 days.  It was so worth it though.  My deep freeze is STOCKED for the next 3+ months of healthy, organic, homemade food for my baby girl.  I know exactly where it came from (Costco gives a lot of detail on where the produce originates), what went into it (because I did it!), and when it was frozen.

At the end of it all, I froze almost 750 ounces of food for Polly (which would be just shy of 200 4oz jars if I were to have bought them at the store).  For comparison’s sake, I looked at the store the other day at the Earth’s Best (organic) 4oz jar of Stage 1 carrots so that I could have a frame of reference to do my calculations.  It was $1.19 per jar.  I’ll spare you the math, but for all of that food, I spent $85.79 at Costco.  Here’s the kicker.  I SAVED $123.41 on what I would have spent on the SAME amount of jarred baby food.  

It’s a ton of work and I’m really glad I don’t have to do it again for a while, but to all my “why don’t you just buy jarred baby food-ers” out there, now you see why!  There is serious cost savings on top of BIG time increased quality.  If you’re interested in making your kiddo’s food, I highly encourage it.  I have lots of great resources that I used that I’d be happy to share.  (Because, yes, I did my research on how to prepare each food to retain the maximum amount of nutrition for my girl because I’m that crazy)

And while this picture seriously doesn’t do it justice because you can’t see that there is a second layer of bags behind all of the ones you can see, this stocked deep freeze makes me smile every time I open it!  For the record, here are the foods I made (in varying quantities):

  • Pears
  • Mango
  • Carrots
  • Apples (2 different varieties)
  • Peas
  • Green Beans
  • White Potato
  • Yellow Squash
  • Zucchini
  • Butternut Squash
You hungry Polly?!

You hungry Polly?!

 

Leave a Reply

