New Years Resolution

Confession: I have never kept a New Years Resolution.

Go ahead.  Judge me.

This year I made two New Years Resolutions.  One I’m right on track with, the other, is a little harder.  (Be prepared to judge me again)

My first New Years Resolution was to make sure I kissed William before bed every night.  Yes, you read that correctly, I do go to bed without kissing my husband goodnight.  If you’re one of those couples who doesn’t struggle with this, more power to you.  Most of us, if we’re honest with ourselves, do not.  William is a night owl, I…used to be a morning bird and now I am more of a neither avian.  Regardless, it is a struggle for me and so I decided to make a conscious effort of it this year, especially since he has been in grad school we rarely go to bed together anymore anyway.

My second New Years Resolution was to read at least two books a month for the entire year.  I stole this resolution from a dear friend of mine, Allyn.  Go ahead.  Judge me again.  Judgment all over the dang place.  Alas, I like the resolution and wanted to piggyback on her good idea.  I love to read and would imagine that on average I read more than two books a month anyway, however, I go through spurts typically.  I’ll read three or four books then not touch one for two months.  My goal with this resolution was to keep myself reading consistently.

So far, I’m right on track!  I will say, this month I’m on the road more than normal for my job so I have enlisted the help of Audiobooks to keep me going, but I’ve decided that those “count” in my book towards my resolution so I feel good about it still.  The sub-goal of the aforementioned resolution was that I was to read books that I already owned rather than buying new ones.  I have more books than I care to admit that have never been read which I what I was attempting to solve by this rule.  There had to be an amendment to the above rule, however, because I didn’t want to purchase/rent Audiobooks for ones I already physically owned, thus paying for them twice.  So in my mind, I added said amendment and the rule-breaking crisis was averted.  (Yes, I like rules)  KBB, you’d be proud of me.  (I wish I could tag your TEDx Portland video but I cannot find it on the interwebs anywhere yet!)

This week I’ll be finishing up Book #10 for the year and on to Book #11.  I thought I’d give a brief run-down of the ones I’ve read so far for documentation’s sake, but this post is already a little lengthy so I’ll save that for tomorrow!  10 down, 14 to go!

Fotor052185310

Fotor052185352Fotor052185448Fotor052185755Fotor052185637

3 comments
  1. The only NY resolution I made was to drive across the country and I completed that in the first two days of the year. Perhaps a bit of underachieving on my part, but I just get tired of always falling behind. I only made it through five chapters of Catch 22 before it was due back at the library. You were right– I just never got into it. Was Catcher in the Rye good? Wasn’t Night the one from VanHoose’s class? And I definitely read Fahrenheit451 in school–maybe in Bray’s class the second year. Good job keeping up with all these!

  2. I love, love, love this resolution. Plus, I’ve read several of the books on your list, and thinking back on how much I loved them is inspiring me to make my own little reading resolution!

    Some books I really loved are…

    The History of Love
    She’s Come Undone (all of Wally Lamb is pretty great)
    and if you haven’t read any David Sedaris, I highly recommend that you do. They are all good, but Me Talk Pretty One Day is my favorite of his.

    Happy reading!

Leave a Reply

