Home Evolution

Well I thought this would be fun and/or interesting.  I’m actually sitting here waiting on my iMac to download the new OS, which is taking forever, and started looking back through old pictures stored in my iPhoto.  The thought crossed my mind how different each of our places of residence have been since we’ve been married.  We’ve lived in 2 apartments (in Austin) and 1 house (in Portland).

Apt. #1/Nelray Blvd., Austin, TX

Our first place! The Nelray Condos! We had our very own Ms. Kravitz who monitored how you threw your trash away, and a guy downstairs growing a large amount of marijuana.  Interesting times…

In my opinion, the first place was much more “William” than me.  We were both still trying to figure out what we liked around us, and I was still trying to figure out how to make William not live in Grandma’s house.  We were convinced there for a little while that my love for quilts and plants might drive him away, but luckily the story has a happy ending.

Quick funny story about the apt. on Nelray.  I never saw it until we walked in on move in day.  We were so busy between graduating from college, Christmas with our families, and the wedding that I never had time to go look.  AND we thought we were moving to Portland after we got married until about a month before the wedding, so that made things a little difficult.  William and our amazing friends Brad and Tiffany went down to Austin to scope out/sign a lease on the first decent place without roaches that they could find.  When I first walked into the apt. I cried.  It was so small.  I sat down on the floor in the living room and cried like a little brat.  And as the story goes, or as William tells it, after I ate some Chick-fil-A and my mom and I started unloading all of my new dishes and kitchen appliances into the cabinets, I perked right up.  I did have a little meltdown, I’ll admit it.  But looking back, that apt. was my favorite.  I loved it.

Top left: The guest bedroom (see, my love of quilts is in full force!), Top right: Kitchen, Bottom left: Living room, Bottom right: Living room book case from IKEA that my husband and father put together. Surprised that things stood as long as it did!

Other than our bed and coffee table, which are STILL on loan from my parents, everything in our first place was from IKEA.  My sweet dad and husband built our whole place!  Ha!  It was 2 bedrooms/2 bathrooms in 600 square feet.  Yeah, you read that right.  There was only one spot in the whole apartment you could go and not see everything/everyone else in the place…made our first marital fights quite interesting.

Apt. #2/Bull Creek Rd., Austin, TX

Our second home equipped with neighbors with 2 yapping pups we wanted to kill and a communal garbage shoot that apparently no one knew how to use because they’d just pile their trash outside the door. It was gross.

After living on what seemed like each other’s laps for a year, we decided we needed more space.  My amazing husband spent his afternoon with a horribly annoying real estate person and found our second apartment.  We moved into the Post West Apartment complex which was closer to work for me and was brand spankin’ new!  I didn’t know what to do with stainless steel appliances AND a garbage disposal (something that I no longer have here in Portland and it makes me sad).  We definitely traded ‘character’ for ‘newness’ in our second place, but we made it our own as best we could.

Top left: Our Bedroom, Top right: Living room, Bottom left: Entry, Bottom right: Same IKEA shelving in apt #2!

This apartment felt more like me than William, in my opinion.  Looking back, it was a little too feminine I think.  We got to paint accent walls in this place which we were thrilled about.  We bought the vinyl trees from Etsy but failed to consider what the Austin heat and humidity would do to their ability to stick on the wall.  Word to the wise.  Do NOT use Gorilla Glue to re-apply vinyl on walls.  That stuff does its job.  The vinyl will not come off.  Ha!!  Oops.

House #1/34th Ave., Portland, OR

And last but not least, our humble little Portland abode. I have no complaints about it, except I miss my garbage disposal. But they make you compost here anyway…

And last, but certainly not least, here is our home now.  We rent this place from a lovely couple who lives in California.  If you’ve read my blog for a while, you know that we had a heck of a time finding a place to live in Portland while still living in Austin.  Words cannot express how thankful I am for this house.  This one FINALLY feels like both of us.  It has so much character anyway and we took our time with the details.  We built our headboard, shelving, and dining room table.  All of our artwork (or new artwork) fits us both perfectly.  I’m just thankful that after almost 4 years of marriage we finally have a place that feels like home.  And more importantly feels like a perfect combo between our styles.  WHEW!

Top left: Dining room with Loretta posing for the photo, Top right: Living Room, Bottom left: Kitchen, Bottom right: Our bedroom

I am really really proud of this place.  It is finally some place that I have room to entertain, which I do often.  We finally have two full sized beds so company doesn’t have to sleep on the floor.  I’m convinced that I will never again be able to live in a house that does not have a basement.  That is one thing these PacNW folks have RIGHT!  BASEMENTS ARE THE BEST INVENTION EVER!  Texas, get it together!  It’s cool in the summer, spacious, only semi-creepy, and I can throw things down there and forget about them (which I never do.  HA!  Do it all the time).

I can definitely say that while Portland doesn’t yet feel exactly like “home”, our house definitely does.  I’m proud of us for making a house a home.  And there you go!  For those of you who like house tours like I do, I hope this was an enjoyable read! 🙂

Leave a Reply

