First Fire!

Oddly enough, one of the main things I wanted to make sure we had in a house when we moved here was a fireplace.  Not just any fireplace, a wood burning fireplace.  Well I got my wish and as it’s creeping into the winter months up here it’s, well, COLD.  Granted, the native Oregonians might disagree with me but to a Texas girl, it’s cold.  Three things I have learned since it turned colder:

  1. The wardrobe of a Texas female doesn’t translate to the necessary wardrobe of an Oregon female.  Not even close.
  2. My 4 sweaters that I owned prior to moving here might as well be sheer because they are NOT heavy enough.  And more importantly there aren’t enough of them.
  3. Never.  And I mean NEVER leave home without your raincoat/rainboots/umbrella.
BEHOLD! OUR FIRST FIRE!

A few weeks ago I called a chimney sweep to come out and clean our fireplace to make sure we were set and ready to go with our fires.  He arrived yesterday morning (GREAT guy…if you’re in Portland and need a chimney sweep, message me–I highly recommend him).  Around 2 p.m. yesterday afternoon, so did a forest.  Not really, but a woman should never be in charge of ordering firewood.

1/2 cord of firewood = enough for an army!
The monstrosity that took me 4 hours to stack.

I ordered our wood from City Light Firewood.  They’re a local company with good prices so I said what the hay!  I ordered a 1/2 cord and two bundles of kindling.  I figured, if it’s too much wood, we’ll just use it next year.  No big deal.  I even researched how much wood that was–reaffirming the fact that I have NO concept how big something is by a measurement.  I read (when stacked) that it would measure 4 ft long by 2 feet high by 2 feet wide.  LIES.  COMPLETE LIES.  I’ve never seen so much wood in one place.  AND they just dumped it in the driveway!  It took me almost 4 hours after work to stack it all by myself.  One thing is for certain, I am not built for manual labor.

Me with my fire!

So after all of the stacking was finished, I finally got to build my first fire.  Side note, we now have four, yes four, HUGE piles of wood.  I had a little trouble getting the wood to light because it was damp but it was nothing a little fire starter couldn’t fix!  I know it’s cheesy but I had to get a picture of me with my fire.  I was so excited!  I built it all by myself!

Loretta Cornbread

Turns out Miss Loretta likes the fire too!  She laid there all night long just purring away!  I had a Meg Ryan movie marathon.  Put my cell phone and iPad away.  You’ve Got Mail.  Check!  When Harry Met Sally. Check!  It was a great evening!  Looking forward to many more where that came from!

3 comments
  1. Emmy said:

    Sally, I’m sure I have told you this before but I LOVE reading your blog because I can live through you! We really do miss Oregon a lot (except for being far from family). Our best friends live there and we plan to visit every couple of years. It is so dear to my heart and I feel like I am experiencing it all over again through you! I remember it was such a culture shock but loved it. We r in ft worth right now and I am so missing the oregon fall – even the rain. Once u move u will find yourself missing the rain. By the way, don’t you know that a true oregonian never uses a umbrella! That’s how you can spot the tourists! Oh, and if you pronouce the Couch street like the sofa in your living room! Keep writing! I love to see what u are doing at all my favorite places!

    PS. Go eat biscuits and gravy at Mothers Bistro

  2. Sarisa said:

    Looks very cozy! I’m thinking about moving to Portland sometime, don’t remember how I found your blog–but I’ve been enjoying it. Thanks!

  3. Julie Levenhagen said:

    I think I found your blog through Pinterest…and I had to comment because your fireplace looks just like ours! The white-washed brick, wood floor, and built-in bookcases, crazy! Here’s a shot (not the best but it’s all I have): http://www.flickr.com/photos/ilovesoymilk/6346225086/sizes/l/in/photostream/. Enjoy your fireplace! Nothing better than a cozy fire on a cold night!

Leave a Reply

