Spoooooky

The Eagle Scout and his campfire!

Presenting…..The Eagle Scout and his campfire!!!  Mr. Fancy Pants and I were invited to a Halloween party this past weekend.  We had such a great time with new friends we’ve made up here in Portland. We threw around a few ideas of what to be but I had seen this idea on a sweet girl from my hometown’s blog and I decided we could do this too!  So, I’m sad to say this was not an original idea, BUT it still turned out great!  I began our costume gathering by asking my amazing mother-in-law to ship us William’s Eagle Scout uniform/get up from Dallas.  Not much else we had to do for him but buy him a pair of pants that would fit!  I used the ole Google tool to find some campfire costume inspiration and ran across this.

Now this lady made this costume for her daughter and theirs looks way more legit than mine (not to mention the fact that it lights up like a real fire), but I used theirs as inspiration and I was very pleased with the turn out!  I used a hula hoop as my structure, vinyl table cloths for the flames, fabric and tissue for the rocks, and foam sheets for the logs!

The campfire, flight attendant, egg (her other half was bacon), and an Ewok (costume contest winners! AMAZING costume!)
William & Eric (who will soon become some lucky Portland high school football team’s biggest fans)
The flight attendant and campfire (aka Sally & Rachel)

There were so many creative costumes at the party!  I was very impressed!  I will say that traditionally I am not one to plan and plan on my Halloween costume.  I’m more your ‘throw it together at the last second with whatever you have’ type girl when it comes to Halloween.  Not this year though!  I was SO excited about our costume.  I ended up wearing just some black running gear underneath the costume (hence the camera flash catching the reflector on my shirt in 90% of the photos).  Not sure if you can see my shoes in any of the photos, but I had on red shoes!

The ONLY thing that would have made it better (minus the lights like my inspiration costume had–which was WAY beyond my crafting abilities) would have been if my headband had been smoke not more flames.  But I never could find a way to make the cotton stand up!

Bacon and Eggs (aka Josh and Shannon)
IMG_5482
Us with Margot and Chad who were in from Chicago!!!
My sweet friend Elsa aka the Ewok!! She made these costumes for her and her husband! They were amazing!

One of the funniest parts of this whole experience was William telling everyone about being an Eagle. He spent about 30 minutes filling me in on all of his patches while I finished getting ready and then everyone at the party was so intrigued by it!  Several people didn’t realize that it was his actual get up from being an Eagle Scout.  We had to fill them in that he wasn’t EXACTLY dressed to regulation.  He didn’t have on his official scout belt or pants.  But considering the last time he was in those pants he was 18 years old…we weren’t going there.  A greenish pair from JCREW was as close as we were getting!

As great of a costume as it was, I would just like to digress for a second and say how proud I am that he finished his Eagle.  We dated throughout high school so I was there through all of the times he wanted to throw in the towel.  And while he was teaching me about the merit badges the other night was the first time I realized how much went in to and was required for each one that he earned!  Let me just say…for an 18 year old boy interested in sports and his friends and a little bit of me…I’m just impressed that he pushed through!  HUGE honor!  Way to go Eagle Scout William! 🙂  He would have NEVER finished had it not been for his best friend Ryan (also an Eagle Scout), Ryan’s dad Dr. B (who was his Scout Master–wrote a little something about him here), and his own daddy-o (my incredible father-in-law)!

The Eagle, the campfire, and the greaser witch (aka KBB!)
Just poppin’ a squat on the floor…because I was too round to sit on any of the furniture. So I sat in the middle of the floor.
Just sitting around the campfire…

One downside to the costume?  I took up a LOT of room.  I had a hard time mingling once all the guests started to arrive.  I camped (pun intended) myself in the living room and let people wander in my direction.  I had many a crowd gathered around the campfire throughout the evening.  What better place to tell stories!?  Ha!

I’ll leave you with one last picture of the Eagle Scout and his campfire!  Happy Halloween y’all!

The Bryants!
1 comment
  1. Jess rich said:

    I did a search for campfire costume & your blog was onn top of the list. My daughter wants this costume for hallowe’en this year. I am just curious what you used to hold the whole thing up & if it was heavy. She has won the school costume contest every year for 4years & wants to make another notch in that belt, lol. Any help would be great. Also what did you attach the flames too?
    Thank you,
    Jess

Leave a Reply

