Just call me “camper extraordinaire”

Here was our campsite marker! F8 was great! Considering the fact that we picked the site in the dark having never been there, we did a DANG good job!

Our camping adventure was amazing.  Like can’t wait to go again amazing.  We left Portland a little later than I wanted to AND turns out Lost Lake isn’t the easiest to find.  Ha!  We got to the campsite a little after dark.  Mr. Fancy Pants (and for purposes of this post we’ll refer to him as The Eagle Scout) had our game plan.  Tent pitched, fire started, dinner begins.  I was supposed to handle the tent on my own, but I ended up needing help.  The two of us got the tent up and ready in no time.  Then I set out to inflate our mattress pad things and get our sleeping bags out.

As the weather forecast said, it wasn’t raining per se, but the closer we got to the mountain the closer we got to an immense cloud of fog that seemed to be sitting at the base of the mountain.  The Eagle Scout said it best–it was like we were in the cloud.  It was the strangest combination of snow, light LIGHT rain, and mist.  It wasn’t really falling but it never seemed to settle.  It didn’t bother us much but it did mean that the ground was wet so it made The Eagle’s job of getting the fire going a little tougher. No fret though, that’s why he’s an Eagle Scout.  He had us ready in no time.

William and his headlamp getting the tent ready to be set up.
Looking like a tent!
Tent is up! Now for the rain cover!
Inside the tent! It was my job to get our beds ready!

Notice, The Eagle Scout’s new Pendleton hat!  He broke it in well this weekend!  On it’s first outing it was pretty wet from the cloud moisture and filled with wood shavings The Eagle Scout carved with his pocket knife for fire starters!  He did look mighty cute in it!

Luckily, and maybe for the first time in my adult life, I planned my wardrobe perfectly.  I wasn’t cold at all–even with the temperature being in the high 30s.  I wore my ColdGear Baselayers, jeans, thick sweater, one of The Eagle’s flannel shirts, a Windbreaker vest of The Eagle Scouts that was handed down from his dad, a big thick scarf, my Alabama hat, and my L.L. Bean boots!

Tongs. One thing we forgot. The Eagle Scout used two sticks to flip our hobo dinners over. Creative, yet didn’t work very well.
Happy camping y’all! Here we are with our headlamps!
Cooked hobo dinner! Not going to lie. REALLY REALLY good.

I must say, I was a little skeptical about the hobo dinners.  Wasn’t quite sure what to expect!  BUT it was really good!  Granted we had worked really hard to get the tent up and the fire going and we were both starving, but it was still good.  I actually prepared them while The Eagle Scout got the fire going. Here’s what I used:

  • 4 red potatoes (cut in half and then sliced)
  • 2 large carrots (chopped into bite-sized pieces)
  • 1/2 white onion (chopped)
  • 1/2 green onion (chopped)
  • 1 lb. of hamburger meat
  • salt, pepper, garlic powder to taste
I mixed all of it together in a bowl and added the seasoning.  Then we just spooned it into the foil and wrapped it up!  We ended up about halfway through putting a second layer of foil on each of them because a few got some holes in them from our make-shift tongs!
Ready to eat!
EXTRA ready to eat! Notice his dirty knees. He worked HARD! The boy earned his dinner!

After dinner, I was in charge of making the s’mores!  I didn’t get any pictures of them (surprisingly) but they were so good.  You can’t go wrong with a good s’more!  After that we had some cleaning up to do and it started getting a bit chilly so we packed away all of our food back in the car (yes there are bears out there so we left nothing in the campsite overnight) and got in the tent!  We played a few games of cards and then called it a night!  We knew we wanted to get up early to go and hike and possibly catch the sun rise so we zipped up our sleeping bags and shut our eyes.

Sadly, this was the part of the trip I was most worried about.  And even more sadly, I know myself all too well.  I was awake for several hours.  Since it was misting outside, we had the tent covered so we couldn’t see outside.  It was so dark.  In the summertime, the campground is full and there are people within shouting distance.  During the cold months, not so much.  I will admit to getting a little scared about being alone out there in the wilderness with no one around.  It kept me awake for a while. FINALLY though, I did fall asleep.  And slept quite well actually!

Since this post is getting a little lengthy, stay tuned for our camping adventure part II tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

