“Any change, even a change for the better, is always accompanied by drawbacks and discomforts.”

Portland postcard credit: BettyTurbo via Etsy

Greetings from Portland!  So much in my life has changed since my last post. Some good, some not so good.  I have been sitting here for the past few minutes thinking back over the move and it seems like I’m watching someone else’s life. The short of it is we’re here.  We made it to Portland.  We have a home that is quickly becoming wonderful.  William is looking forward to starting school soon and is enjoying his new studio space at ADX Portland.  I finished up my last day of the job I’ve been doing for the last 2.5 years today.  Monday I begin a new position (with the same company) that should prove to be challenging, rewarding, and stressful all at the same time.

At the same time, I’m still adjusting to life here.  Life without our Avey who passed away.  More on that later.  The new addition to our family, Loretta, does seem to help with that void!  I am missing all of my friends terribly.  Portland itself I like almost as much, if not more, than Austin.  My friends are the part of Austin I miss.  I am confident we will make loads of new friends here, but it will take time. I pray each night that God would bring us the blessing of friendship we had in Austin while still holding a spot in the hearts of those in Austin we love so much. DON’T FORGET US AUSTIN FRIENDS!!!

More than anything, this move has made me proud.  Proud in a good way! I have always known we have a strong marriage.  But, it is times like these that I am reminded how strength and comfort can come from finding the person you were made for.  I am stronger with him by my side.  I am proud of us for making this move.  I know our families and friends are supportive (out least out loud, maybe not so happy about it secretly 🙂 ) but he and I made this happen.  We saw an opportunity and weren’t afraid to take that step.  We moved away from our home, families, and friends so that I could start a new job and progress in my career; so that Mr. Fancy Pants can get his Masters and continue showing the world how incredibly talented he is; so that we could step outside of ourselves and be reminded who we are.  For that, I am proud.

I have so much to share.  So much about Portland, our move, our home, our new kitty…it goes on and on.  Mr. Fancy Pants promised me he would redesign my blog if I promised to write on a regular basis.  So get ready my friends.  Happy Friday!

On a completely different note, the amazing postcard pictured above is from BettyTurbo.  Don’t be surprised if you get one of these in the mail.  I’m buying some!

Leave a Reply

