Bedroom Inspiration

Amazing headboard from the Ace Hotel

We are going to try and recreate something like this in our home in Portland–the headboard that is.  I think it would be pretty simple to make.  I love the idea of having lights/lamps fixed to the headboard itself.  Saves me from toiling over the perfect piece of artwork to hang above our bed.  Now I just need some great reclaimed wood!

I’m also scoping out what kind of light fixtures I’d want.  I ran across this great website Barn Yard Electric.  I love their philosophy of combining vintage and modern to create amazing, American made fixtures.  All of their products represent original barn lighting and I want one of pretty much every one they make.  These are the ones I am considering to be attached to the above headboard:

Option #1 the Austin Wall Sconce

Option #2 the Atomic Topless Sconce (love the name...makes me chuckle)

Option #3 the Rawhide Sconce. I think my favorite and of course the most expensive. Surprise, surprise.

I think we’ll end up going with option #2.  It’s the one we both like.  I would buy it with clear glass so that you could see the light bulb.  I want to use those nostalgic Edison style light bulbs.  I think they’re just lovely.  Barn Yard Electric sells those as well but I am going to be on the lookout for some where that I can buy them for less than $20/bulb!!

I’m on the lookout for bedding as well.  What we have now, bed and all, is going to be our guest bed when we move.  We’re going to get a cheap bed frame and make a headboard so that shouldn’t cost too much.  I have no idea where to start with bedding though.  If it were just me, I wouldn’t have trouble at all.  But, buying bedding that is masculine and feminine, well designed, comfortable, reasonably priced, and that doesn’t have to be dry cleaned is WAY too difficult!  I guess if that is my biggest problem I’m doing a-ok! 🙂

2 comments
  1. Pingback: Headboard 101 |

  2. Mike said:

    I’m planning to build a reclaimed headboard and have been looking for the simple vintage style Edison bulb housing. I can’t seem to find them anywhere. Do you know a place they can be purchase online?

    Thanks!
    Mike

Leave a Reply

