Austin City Limits

Austin City Limits

The line up has finally been released for the 2010 Austin City Limits!  I’m not sure why I write that to sound like I am a veteran attendee (because I’m not), but I have been excited about seeing the line up for this year.  I am happy to say, I was not disappointed!

There are a lot of people criticizing the line up for this year–to each his own I guess. I will say that I am a ‘jack of all trades’ when it comes to music.  There is no type of music that I do not like, though it’s still a mystery to me the rhyme or reason to why I like what I do.  Call it good taste, call it bad, not really my problem but I like a little of it all.

Unlike most, music for me is about the melody, the lyrics, whether or not I could sing along with it really loud in the car with my best friend Kate, the memory a song/artist provokes, etc.  This is probably a bad way to judge taste in music but it seems to work for me.  I will say that I attribute two people to have developed my music sense; William and my Dad. William has introduced me to all things indie, off the beaten path, whatever you want to call it.  And my precious Dad continually reminds me that I was born in the wrong decade with our shared love for 60s, 70s, and early 80s rock & roll and country.  They’re like night and day but it compliments my personality.

ALL of that said, it’ll make a little more sense why I’ve taken Friday, October 8th off from work and will spend three days with thousands of people (fighting my claustrophobia…yikes) at ACL.  If you’re looking for Mr. Fancy Pants and I that weekend, here’s where we’ll be…well this is where I’LL be–Mr. Fancy Pants won’t be joining me to all of them I imagine:

  • The Strokes
  • Spoon
  • Vampire Weekend
  • Beach House
  • Two Tons of Steel (throw in a little country)
  • Pat Green
  • Girls
  • M.I.A.
  • The Temper Trap
  • The EAGLES!  (only my daddy will appreciate my excitement here)
  • The Flaming Lips
  • Norah Jones
  • Edward Sharpe
  • Devendra Banhart
  • Midlake

Now I just have to find a three-day pass that I won’t have to give away my first born child for!  Ha!  Ah, the price for hearing so much music in one place!

Leave a Reply

