Update on my Growing Obsession

New planter--Lets all keep our fingers crossed it doesnt come crashing down out of the ceiling!

New planter--Lets all keep our fingers crossed it doesn't come crashing down out of the ceiling!

How great is this planter!?  A gift from my mother, I got this planter about two weeks ago and I have been obsessed with it for even longer!  Some friends of ours have a neighbor that has a planter very similar to this one that I have had my eye on since we met them in February. I have been so intrigued by it and thought it the most clever way to display their plants! Mom and I spotted one in Ellis Pottery when we were shopping for Texas mums and I had to take it home with me.  They have the hanging variety (which was my choice) and they also make a stand that sits on the ground and essentially does the same thing. I’m not going to lie to you.  I am a little scared that this first go around might have a disastrous fate as it’s heavy as lead and even though the hook it’s hanging on appears to be holding the weight just fine, I am a little apprehensious.

With the help of my new friend, Katie who works at Shoal Creek Nursery here in Austin, I decided to go with a “silvery” theme with my selections for my new planter. I’m afraid I’m going to lose most of these with the weather changing however, I will remember this combination because I love the way it looks right now!  Let’s hope they make it through the harsh Texas winter–ha!  I’ll give you the run down on each of these in case you’re interested in trying out your green thumb, however, to be honest with you, mostly it’s just so that I’ll remember when to water each one!

Silver Falls

Silver Falls

A Mature Silver Falls (what mine will eventually look like)

A Mature Silver Falls (what mine will eventually look like)

My top pot contains three Silver Falls.  Silver Falls is easiest to grow when warm, dry growing conditions are available. This is where this planter gets interesting–each one of these suckers has a different watering schedule!  If you like the Silver Falls and want to get one for yourself, let the crop dry out well before watering this one again.  They like full or partial sun and are ideal for hanging baskets, containers, or ground cover.

Aztec Grass

Aztec Grass

The second pot from the top contains Aztec Grass.  These grasses also like full or partial shade (which is key with this planter–they all need to like the same amount of sunlight). They are in their peak in the late spring/early summer however, I am told this one might last through the winter and that it’s real growth spurt will pick up in the spring.  Aztec Grass need regular watering though it’s important not to over water.

Dusty Miller

Dusty Miller

Mature Dusty Miller (after it's been planted into the ground)

Mature Dusty Miller (after it's been planted into the ground)

The Dusty Miller is my favorite and unfortunately I know I’m going to lose this one pretty soon.  They will begin to die when the temperature is consistently below 50 at night.  The Dusty Miller grows best in sandy soil and exposed to full sun.  Until the roots are established, it needs water every day.  After the roots have a while to take hold, it can tolerate a little more drought and watering can be cut back.

Artemisia 'Powis Castle'

The last pot has an Artemisia planted in it–this was the first one that I picked out and the basis of my “silvery” theme. Atremisia can survive in arid and semi-arid conditions and have feathery foliage that I just love.  Atremisia ‘Powis Castle’ which is the variety that I have, smells like a cross between a fir tree and lemon, which only reminds me of Christmas so I couldn’t help but love it.  Most Artemisia are frost hardy and prefer well-drained soil and a sunny location.  This one has a relatively regular watering schedule as well but can withstand drier soil.

I love that I am finally learning about plants, gardening, growing, etc. with some pretty significant success!  So far (knock on wood), nothing I have is dying which is a huge feat for me.  My dear friend Julia has a love for plants (and can grow anything, I’m convinced) and is the one who encouraged me to take my sparked interest and turn it into a hobby.  Since I am still learning, I am constantly asking for advice which I’m sure drives her crazy.  Nothing like taking over a friend’s hobby–hopefully it will always be a love that we can share because I owe it all to her!  You gave me the green thumb bug Julia!

1 comment
  1. jan said:

    These look awesome. I have such a terrible green thumb.

Leave a Reply

