Hey Good Lookin’, Whatcha Got Cookin’?: Pumpkin Bread

Pumpkin Bread

Pumpkin Bread Recipe

Ingredients

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 teaspoons cinnamon
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 1/2 cups sugar
  • 3/4 cup vegetable oil
  • 3 large eggs
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 3 cups shredded fresh pumpkin
  • 1 cup toasted pumpkin seeds

Directions

Preheat the oven to 325 degrees F.

Sift the flour, cinnamon, baking soda, baking powder, and salt together.

In a separate bowl, mix the sugar, vegetable oil, eggs, and vanilla. Combine both mixtures and fold in the shredded pumpkin and pumpkin seeds. Once the ingredients are all incorporated separate the ingredients and pour into two non- stick 9 by 5 by 3-inch loaf pans. If your pan is not non- stick coat it with butter and flour.

Bake for 1 hour and 15 minutes. At this point a knife inserted into the middle of the loaf should come out clean. Cool for 15 minutes and turn out onto a cooling rack. Cool completely. For muffins temperature should also be 325 degrees F., but bake for 30 minutes.

Pumpkin Bread Ingredients

Pumpkin Bread Ingredients

Mix in the toasted pumpkin seeds to the dough

Mix in the toasted pumpkin seeds to the dough

Finished Pumpkin Bread

Finished Pumpkin Bread

So a week or so ago, I went to William Sonoma to buy some new cookbooks, and like most other stores I love, the displays, smells, new merchandise, etc. worked their magic on me and I begin to believe that I need to buy something other than what I went in for.  Throw in a convincing sales person who can rattle off all of the bells and whistles of how great the product is and I’m sold.  It’s a dangerous hold these stores have on me…scary.  Anyway, this is what I left with.

New Emile Henry Artisan Loaf Pan

New Emile Henry Artisan Loaf Pan

My new loaf pan, that I love and do not in the least bit regret buying, then spurred on a desire to make pumpkin bread–thus the recipe above.  I learned several things from my first encounter with pumpkin bread.  One, you don’t have to toast pumpkin seeds very long–they will burn.  Two, pumpkin bread rises.  The recipe above originally called to be put in one loaf pan and I have altered the recipe to be baked in two pans.  The inside of my oven is a disaster after the bread rose, began to bake onto and around the rack above it, dripped over the side, and began to burn on the bottom of the oven.  And three, Iwould suggest two loaf pans, moving the bottom rack to the lowest notch it can go to, placing a cookie sheet on that rack to catch any overflow, and keeping your fingers crossed!

My first experience with this recipe left me with a pretty significant burn on my left thigh, a horribly dirty oven, sheets of paper towel on fire (don’t ask), and one REALLY good loaf of pumpkin bread.  Heed my advise–your experience will be much better if you just use two loaf pans!

1 comment
  1. lisa said:

    oh, man, that looks so good. i made pumpkin pancakes this morning that were actually pretty tasty. gonna have to try this!

Leave a Reply

