High School Flashback and Texas State Fair

Hello all!  Life has gotten in the way lately and I had taken a hiatus from my little blog but I am back with much to share!  Thanks for you patience and check back for lots of exciting posts this week!

25 Years of Pleasant Grove High School Showstoppers

25 Years of Pleasant Grove High School Showstoppers

Two weekends ago, Mr. Fancy Pants and I made the trip to Texarkana, TX (our hometown) to attend the first football game in our high school alma mater’s new football stadium.  Exciting stuff you guys!

William was ready to “suit up” the whole game, and we just knew they were going to need his expertise that have only been perfected after 4 years of intramural college football…there would be a cry from the sidelines and they’d play “Put Me in Coach, I’m Ready to Play” on the loud speaker as Mr. Fancy Pants came running down the bleachers onto the field–to a standing ovation obviously.  Sadly, this was not the case and we were left in the bleachers reminiscing about high school days trying to decide if we missed them or not.

Former Captain, Director, Neighbor, Mentor, and Friend--Jenny Bearden and I at the new Hawk Stadium

Former Captain, Director, Neighbor, Mentor, and Friend--Jenny Bearden and I at the new Hawk Stadium

While Mr. Fancy Pants spent his time playing football and basketball at Pleasant Grove High School, I spent my time on the dance team.  This weekend, the Pleasant Grove High School Showstoppers celebrated their 25th year reunion which was my incentive to go home this weekend–that and the hopes that Mr. Fancy Pants would go sprinting down from the stands onto the field and back into his “glory days”.  Instead, of preparing for his big debut under the Friday night lights, Mr. Fancy Pants spent his Friday afternoon with me and a bunch of other woman setting up for the reunion reception–his job was to dress one of the mannequins with an old uniform.  He played along for a few minutes before he told us how wrong it felt and informed us that we has done with that job!

Sweet Friends from high school (Anna, Rachel, Me, April, and Heather)

Sweet Friends from high school (Anna, Me, Rachel, April, and Heather)

Old Showstopper Memorabilia

Old Showstopper Memorabilia

Current Showstopper Uniform

Current Showstopper Uniform

It was really good to see old friends and see how far the dance team has come.  10 years after the team began, the Showstoppers won their first National Championship and has held their title of National Champions for the past 15 years consecutively.  I am proud to have been a part of the team from 2001-2005, serving as captain my senior year.    Like everyone, I have many unpleasant memories from high school, however, my time with the Showstoppers made each awkward, miserable, dramatic experience in high school worth it.  Watching the current team dance at the football game, my friends and I watched wondering and hoping their experience means as much to them now as it did to us then.

State Fair of Texas

State Fair of Texas

On our way back to Austin yesterday we stopped to see my wonderful in-laws, the infamous parents of Mr. Fancy Pants, and we went to the last day of the Texas State Fair.  Good times were had by all!  Strangely enough, Mr. Fancy Pants and I several conversations this past week about memories from when we were little and whether it was truly the experience or the time lapsed with the memory that gave us such a good, nostalgic feeling about them.

The restaurant we chose for my birthday dinner for example, I loved as a child and we decided to go on my birthday considering I hadn’t been in years.  Bad choice and definitely one of those memories that had to have gotten better with time because the reality definitely got worse.  The food was no where near what I remembered and there was a rat in the restaurant!  Thankfully the company was beyond perfect and it made for a really funny story.  But that said, Mr. Fancy Pants was very excited about getting a funnel cone at the fair but was a little nervous that his new experience might ruin all of his memories if it wasn’t up to par.  Thankfully for his sake, fried dough and powered sugar is good no matter how old you are!

Mr. and Mrs. Fancy Pants at the Texas State Fair

Mr. and Mrs. Fancy Pants at the Texas State Fair

Texas Star ferris wheel

Texas Star ferris wheel

Ariel view of the fair from the Texas Star

Ariel view of the fair from the Texas Star

Ariel view of the fair from the Texas Star

Ariel view of the fair from the Texas Star

Growing up, the county fair used to come to the Four States Fair Grounds in Texarkana, AR every year.  I would beg my mother to take me.  Pulling up to Fair Park yesterday afternoon, I wondered how different or the same it would be from the memories from my childhood.  Maybe I shouldn’t even try to compare the two, but the State Fair was so much better than my memories!  Granted there were thousands of people all over the place but where else in the Western Hemisphere can you ride a ferris wheel 212 feet tall?!  No where is the answer.  Mr. Fancy Pants and I took a ride in the Texas Star, the tallest ferris wheel in the Western Hemisphere.  Not going to lie to you I was a little nervous when they stopped us at the top, but definitely an experience well worth the 24 coupons it took to get us on the ride!  I’m not sure when they stopped taking cash at the fair–maybe it’s my small town mentality–but my sweet father-in-law made about 5 trips to the “coupon” stand so that we could get our fill of fair food and such.  I guess we missed the memo that Coupons are now the “official” fair currency!  So thanks to the Bryants for a GREAT day at the fair!!!!  William and I will always cherish that afternoon!

Mr. Fancy Pants and his parents--Steve and Dorene!

Mr. Fancy Pants and his parents--Steve and Dorene!

My mother-in-law was right, these are the ONLY corny dogs you should get at the fair!  Theyre the best!

My mother-in-law was right, these are the ONLY corny dogs you should get at the fair! They're the best!

Me with my corny dog.

Me with my corny dog.

With all of the blasts from the past I seem to be experiencing lately, it seems It’s an interesting thought to me how much something change while most things stay the same.  Mr. Fancy Pants made a good point in a conversation we had the other day that most things in life come full circle–fashion, politics, theories, fads, etc.  To pay tribute to my flashback weekend, I think it’s good for all of us to remember and learn from our past experiences.  Where I think we go wrong, myself included, is when we’re upset about the present and spend time complaining about how much things have changed when it seems to me that the only thing that seems to change is us and our point of view.  I know mine has bent and shifted and seems to be coming full circle.  I have knowledge now that sure would’ve been useful in high school.  I think we’re all changing just as much as the world around us, whether we realize it or not.  Just a thought to ponder. Have a good day all!

Leave a Reply

