Sweet Berry Farms

Mrs. Fancy Pants with our 18 pound Fairy Tale pumpkin

Mrs. Fancy Pants with our 18.35 pound Fairy Tale pumpkin

Mr. and Mrs. Fancy Pants on the hayride

Mr. and Mrs. Fancy Pants on the hayride

Mr. Fancy Pants and I made the trip out to Sweet Berry Farms on Sunday afternoon. Granted, I was so excited about this trip after a week of built up anticipation and honestly expected to be a little let down by the whole experience.  I am happy to say that this was not the case–not even bit.  It was a rainy afternoon in Central Texas and it drizzled on us off and on for the two hours we spent on the farm, however, both of us agreed afterwards it didn’t bother us a bit!  This place was a Mecca of fall fun!  As you can presumably tell already, I am a HUGE sucker for holidays, decorating, seasonal spirit and the like; and maybe I was skipping towards the entrance of the farm with my hair in pig-tails right along-side a herd of 4 year olds, but even the Ebenezer Scrooge of fall (if there was such a thing) would leave with happy memories from Sweet Berry Farm.

Fairy Tales and Original Pies

Fairy Tales and Original "Pies"

Pumpkins and Gourds everywhere--even in bath tubs!

Pumpkins and Gourds everywhere--even in bath tubs!

I’ll give you a little run down of our memorable afternoon, but for the most part, I’m going to let the pictures speak for themselves (after writing this I have realized that’s not the case–sorry I had a lot to say!!).  We began our afternoon just walking around and taking some photos.  I was expecting hundreds of traditional “orange pies”, I’ve got to be official and use the term they use on the farm, and was wondering just how many of the same orange pumpkin I was going to want–my point is not many, there’s only so much you can do with a bright orange vegetable. However, there had to have been more than 60 types of pumpkins and gourds there to buy!  Some of them had the strangest names: Fairy Tale, Koma Koma, Swan Gourds, Blue Gourds, etc. etc.

One hundred pound original pies

One hundred pound original "pies"

Pumpkin/Gourd Varieties

Pumpkin/Gourd Varieties

My father informed me a day or two ago that the front page of mine and Mr. Fancy Pant’s hometown newspaper featured a 2,000 pound pumpkin–yes there is so much headlining news going on in Texarkana that a 2,000 pound pumpkin made the front page.  Some things never change.  Sweet Berry had thousands of small and medium sized “traditional pies” for painting and carving a sagging table of pumpkins that were over 100 pounds a piece.  They were no 2,000 pounds but never in my life have I seen a vegetable so big!

Mr. Fancy Pants at the beginning of the maze

Mr. Fancy Pants at the beginning of the maze

Mr. Fancy Pants REALLY happy to have found one of the posts inside the Texas Maze

Mr. Fancy Pants REALLY happy to have found one of the posts inside the Texas Maze

We made our way around the farm and bought tickets for a hayride to the “Texas Maze”.  On the other side of the county road (yes we walked through a tunnel underneath the road–and our tractor driver said as we walked away, “Watch out for those cars…they’ll run right over you!” Don’t worry, I laughed at his corny joke–maybe too hard) The maze is on the other side of a field of flowers and is, if you saw the arial view, in the shape of Texas.  Throughout the maze they have a posts with a name of a lake in Texas on it.  Your “goal” was to find all of the lakes and punch a hole on your ticket at each respective lake.  We entered the maze on the northern tip of the “state” so we were told.  We did not do so well.  We were in the maze for about 30 minutes and successfully got really turned around and found two of the 11 lakes!  Pathetic.  We finally gave up.  Luckily Mr. Fancy Pants is an Eagle Scout otherwise I know without a doubt I would still be in that dang field of corn.

This photo is for my mother.  The only person in the world that would love this face and the only one who loves corn as much as me.

This photo is for my mother. The only person in the world that would love this face and the only one who loves corn as much as me.

After the corn maze, The Fancy Pants’ decided that corn sounded tasty so we went to the Pumpkin Grille and grabbed a Coke (we’re addicted) and shared a corn on the cob.  You can see from my face that I was pleased.

Digging for mini gourds

Digging for mini gourds

Struggling with this one...a little heavy for me!

Struggling with this one...a little heavy for me!

And after much anticipation, Mr. Fancy Pants counted our remaining cash, told me how much we had left and said to “go wild”.  I grabbed a Radio Flyer wagon, a perfect touch I thought, and began to pick my favorite pumpkins.  I know I looked the part of the 4 year old that I had been feeling like all day, but I didn’t care in the least bit!  Most of the bigger pumpkins were priced by the pound and I had a time trying to even lift some of them!  Mr. Fancy Pants was such a good sport, though I never doubted he would be. We both were up to our elbows trying to find the best ones. We both knew we didn’t want any of the normal looking ones so we came home with an 18.35 pound Fairy Tale pumpkin, a 9 pound Blue Gourd, a Swan Gourd, a Pokemon pumpkin, 2 mini orange/white pumpkins, and 6 ghoulish mini gourds–all for the bargain price of $20.33!  And to top it all off, my sweet husband carried them all to the car and carefully got them home to Apartment 12 to wrap up our fall decor!

Our Pumpkin Loot!

Our Pumpkin Loot!

Anytime, Mr. Fancy Pants and I have a little adventure we’re bound to have a good time, it’s in his nature, and our day at Sweet Berry Farms was no different. Anyone who knows William will tell you what a true joy he is. Sunday, however, will always be one of my favorite memories.  I’ve never been so happy to be Mrs. Fancy Pants. Happy Fall everyone!

Mrs. Fancy Pants in the flower field

Mrs. Fancy Pants in the flower field

You can view all of our pictures from the day on my Flickr site.

5 comments
  1. mom said:

    I love it!!! and yes I love that face!!! the corn made me hungry!!!

  2. brooke said:

    the pumpkin patch you went to is WAY cooler than the one we went to! i love your pumpkins, i should have gotten a little more creative with my choices but i was feeling traditional 🙂

    coffee soon!! (and by coffee i mean hot chocolate 🙂 )

  3. jan said:

    we have a farm nearby us that is almost exactly the same, corn maze and all! must go soon!

  4. tania said:

    Loved the post…can’t wait to find one here near Dallas that is as fun.

Leave a Reply

