New Project

So, William and I traveled to London, England with my family last week for a little family vacation.  We had such a good time!  We spent 4 days in the city and spend two days traveling around.  We visited Windsor Castle, Stonehenge, Bath, Stratford-Upon-Avon, the Cotswolds, and Oxford.  It was a jam-packed trip full of sight-seeing and lots of history (which my dad and I particularly enjoy).

Back in the day, before digital cameras, I took just as many pictures as I do now with my handy dandy PowerShot.  The difference being I used to print out all of my millions of pictures and they now sit, sadly collecting dust, in photo boxes and photo albums, books, and scrapbooks in my closet at my parent’s house.  Ever since we got married, I have broken my need to have a physical copy of each picture I take–other than our wedding photos and the occasional picture that I print to hang or display in our apartment.  I am glad that I am not printing pictures just for the sake of printing them (I’m sure Walgreen’s greatly misses me in the photo department) though I do miss having them to look at other than on my computer screen.

So, when I got home and began uploading my 393 photos that I took during our vacation, I remembered reading about the photo books that you could make using iPhoto.  I did a little research on it and decided it was the perfect solution! You can pick your design template and then you just start adding photos!  I am trying to do ours in order of our week so that I can remember our trip better. Here are some screenshots of how the design is coming:

Day 1: These photos are from the first day of our trip. I love this layout and the captions on the right page.

Here's a spread with a full page picture and a page with four pictures. The pages in the book itself will be around 8.5 x 11" so you can judge the size of pictures we'll get with that.

Day 2: Pictures of the changing of the guard at Buckingham Palace. Side note, that is my new hat...and I love it!

Here is what the photo book will look like when it’s printed:

http://www.apple.com/ilife/iphoto/print-products.html

Several of the options that are listed on the website I didn’t have the option to use because I don’t have the most current version of iLife.  (trying to get that update–side note).  That said, I picked the ‘Modern Lines’ theme for our book. On the inside of the book there are several opening pages that I am writing little memories about our trip and a little ‘table of contents/outline’ of our trip.  Shh…I’ll let you in on a little secret.  I am hoping that if I am really really sweet, William will draw something really great for the front cover. Here is what we’re working on right now.

London famous buildings/skyline:

But hand-drawn in Mr. Fancy Pants style like he did for the Picture Book Report project he’s working with (See Big Ben and the Tower Bridge already drawn below):

I am really warming to this idea for our photos.  What a great way to have a physical product of our pictures/memories without taking up a whole lot of space!  AND it’ll be a new addition to our bookshelves!

You can see the rest of our photos from our amazing trip here:

http://www.flickr.com/photos/mrsfancypantz/sets/72157624294566921/

2 comments
  1. Jessica said:

    Let us know how the photo book turns out – it looks great so far, and I’ve always been curious about those. Looks like a fun trip! (I love the description of the photo of you in the phonebooth.)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 32 other followers

