Sunday Afternoon Adventure

Sledd Nursery

Sledd Nursery, Austin, TX

Mr. Fancy Pants and I had quite the adventure on Sunday afternoon.  We discovered some great places in Austin that we’d never been before!  That’s one of the things that I have grown to love about Austin, or big cities I guess, is how you can live here for years and never see it all.  I feel like there is always a new leaf to uncover if I feel the need for an adventure.

The first stop on our little afternoon journey was Sledd Nursery on West Lynn.  This dive is in a great neighborhood in town that we also just wandered into called Clarksville.  Their selection was wonderful. The man that was working was as nice as he could be.  I love nurseries where you can tell that the people working there know what they’re talking about–because let’s be honest.  We all know I don’t!  This little corner of West Lynn was precious.  There are several other great places over there that I can’t wait to visit–Caffe Medici, the Galaxy Cafe, Cipollina, and Jeffery’s Restaurant and Bar.

Sledd Nursery

Sledd Nursery

Plant selection at Sledd Plants

Plant selection at Sledd Plants

We then made a stop at the HOPE Farmers Market.  We actually just happened upon it–driving by we saw people going into what looked like an outdoor market and decided to check it out.

“The Sunday HOPE Farmers Market is a weekly community gathering space where local farmers, artisans, community groups, families, and urban consumers can find fresh foods, community programs, artistic creations, agricultural education and wellness workshops. This unique weekly gathering space will be a platform to introduce local artists and Austin residents to surrounding area farms, healthy lifestyle companies, education in the arts and local community volunteer programs.”

Hope Farmers Market

Hope Farmers Market

Metal Sculpture outside of the HOPE Farmers Market

Metal Sculpture outside of the HOPE Farmers Market

Turns out this was the first week of the HOPE Farmers Market.  It’s still small but you can tell it has huge potential.  Things like that–markets, festivals, etc.–do so well here in Austin.  Everything there was locally grown or made and was an awesome representation of Austin.  We talked with a local farmer who has a nursery here in town for a while; there was definitely an exciting energy about the place.  I think that’s one of the things that draws me to gardening.  I’m always in awe of those who are able to make something with their hands, Mr. Fancy Pants for example.  I’ve never been very creative and am envious of the pride others are able to take in something they’ve invested themselves into.  There were people there today with herbs, vegetables, jewelry, plants, compost, art, and all sorts of other knick knacks all so excited to share their talents with the likes of someone like me!

HOPE Farmers Market

HOPE Farmers Market

Lastly, we made a stop at The Great Outdoors (another nursery, Mr. Fancy Pants was thrilled).  I will say, I am pretty attached to a few nurseries in town for various and sundry reasons and will continue to give them my business as long as I live in Austin.  However, this place may have won my heart.  It is a gardening mecca and everywhere you turn there is a knowledgeable staff member there to help you out. They have all of their plants very well organized by annuals, perennials, fall blooms, citrus, herbs, etc., as well as pamphlets on how to plant and maintain each kind of plant in every area.

The Great Outdoors

The Great Outdoors

The Great Outdoors

The Great Outdoors

I was so overwhelmed walking around.  I was also really impressed at how healthy all of the plants that they had looked–and they’re reasonability priced which makes it so much better!  The actual space is beautiful as well with huge oak trees growing all of their property (which is something I really miss from East Texas). They had the biggest set of wind chimes I’ve ever seen hanging in one tree whose limbs were like a canopy over the entire back corner of the property.  Overall, very, very impressive.  They made a customer out of me!

Mr. Fancy Pants trying out the hats at The Great Outdoors

Mr. Fancy Pants trying out the hats at The Great Outdoors

Here were my purchases from The Great Outdoors–four black terra cotta pots for my herbs.  I had seen an article in one of the recent editions of Martha Stewart Living about all of Martha’s outdoor potted plants at her house.  She has all of her pottery made especially for her by Guy Wolff of Wakefield Studio.  Guy and his son Ben use traditional methods to make garden pottery in the spirit of craftsmen from the 18th and 19th century.  Guy Wolff Garden Pottery is hand thrown on a potters wheel, and their pottery is finished in two different manners: a unique terra cotta moss finish is applied by hand before firing, and then fired to nearly 2000 degrees Fahrenheit for lasting durability.

Some pretty Fancy plants--Rosemary, Chive, Variegated Lemon Thyme, and Basil

Some pretty 'Fancy' plants--Rosemary, Chive, Variegated Lemon Thyme, and Basil

Channelling my inner Martha, I fell in love with the idea of having all of my pots be or look the same.  All of the pots made for Martha are stamped with the name of our estate which I find particularly cool. Granted, I cannot afford for someone to personally make me pottery, however, I have been on a search lately for some pottery for my herbs that was simple yet rustic.  The Great Outdoors had just the thing!  Now onto my next project!!  Next Sunday’s quest: finding a vintage table or plant stand for my newly coordinated herbs!

My 'Fancy' Herbs

My 'Fancy' Herbs

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 30 other followers

